Boston Symphony Chamber Players Balance Acoustics and Expression

There was a great deal of grace — in Nielsen’s Quintet for Winds. It is one of the composer’s most frequently played works, and with good reason. The writing for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn is richly idiomatic, the neo-Classical style joyfully accessible without ever being pat — Stravinsky without the sarcasm. The Boston players turned in a performance that was balanced and expressive.

July 14, 2015
Read More

The Heart of Central Park

A YouTube video on the concerts with interviews of Colin & Eric Jacobsen from The Knights, historical materials on the Naumburg Bandshell and an interview of Christopher London who runs the concert series.

— CBS Evening News Intern Project – Malorie Cunningham, CBS Evening News
August 21, 2014

Waiting Out Rain for Haydn, Schoenfield and Weber

Pleasant weather marked the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s concert at the Naumburg Bandshell in Central Park on Tuesday. Pleasant weather for the fish in the nearby lake, that is. Haydn was a famous exponent of “Sturm und Drang,” but the torrential rain that began as the society’s players prepared to emerge for one of his piano trios seemed a joke too far.

— DAVID ALLEN, The New York Times
August 13, 2014
Read More

Naughton Sisters Play a Concert for Two Pianos in Central Park

Twin sisters Christina and Michelle Naughton play at the Naumburg Bandshell in Central Park. Twin sisters Christina and Michelle Naughton play at the Naumburg Bandshell in Central Park. (Kim Nowacki/WQXR)

Twin sisters Christina and Michelle Naughton played a concert for two pianos at the Naumburg Bandshell in Central Park on 5 August 2014. The program featured John Adams’s rhythmic Hallelujah Junction, Ravel’s La Valse and Stravinsky’s dramatic Rite of Spring. Read more at WQXR

Christina and Michelle Naughton, Twin Pianists, Perform at Naumburg Orchestral Concert

When the pianists Christina and Michelle Naughton perform together, they never look at each other, but they move in tandem, mirroring each other’s every gesture.

“It’s really bizarre,” said Cristian Mãcelaru, associate conductor of the Philadelphia Orchestra. “When you see a quartet that has been playing together for 25 or 30 years, it’s a similar thing.”

“This sounds freaky, but there are times I forget we’re two people playing together,” Christina said.

— Corinne Ramey, The Wall Street Journal
August 4, 2014
Read More